New Life, for Patch and Me

A portion of San Francisco skyline from my hotel, November 2010

Updated 8/17/14

Not being a parent, I’m not sure whether people still put locks of hair into baby books. But there are ways to commemorate special moments.

Thursday (12/23/2010), Suwanee Patch became a living, breathing Web site. Like other Patch sites, it’s all about community. (Can we bury the word “hyperlocal,” by the way, alongside “cyberspace” and “information superhighway”?) But this is different.

I’m the editor of Suwanee Patch, so it’s special to ME. Patch Media and AOL provided the infrastructure  and resources, in generous fashion. Atlanta-area Patch local and regional editors provided invaluable daily support. And Suwanee provided ample material.

Like other Patch editors, I was the one out there sloshing through rain and cold to take pictures and get information for all of you to enjoy. Other writers/photographers were on the other end of my e-mails and phone calls with story ideas, suggestions, etc. I was the one with endless notes in my briefcase that at times seemed overwhelming. I was the one learning to use a Mac for the first time, and reading online training material in the early hours, when infomercials are the only TV fare.

This is like slapping an infant on the rump, or cutting the cord, or … no more cliches. You get the idea.

Talk about evolution, of both me and the news media that has been my career, for the most part. Years ago, I remember an incident in which a rural sheriff actually locked in a jail cell one of the quarter-operated news racks that our paper used for distribution. Seems he didn’t like our coverage much. But you don’t need to put a quarter in the box for Patch, or most other Web sites.

I still have a bloodhound instinct in seeking stories. The picture below shows that. I once refereed a pro wrestling match for a first-person account, and came away exhausted but unscathed. And guess what? A British TV production company that is working on a pilot contacted me recently about using the picture. Really.

So the media have changed, and I have less hair. But we’re both still around.

As wrestling ref for Randy “Macho Man” Savage, top, and Roberto Soto

About Steve Burns

I live in the Atlanta area. I also lived for many years in Southern California. I'm into mainstream media, social media, sports, business and politics. I worked for AOL's Patch, but this is my personal blog. I'm on Twitter (@bsteve76), Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Pinterest. See ya 'round!
This entry was posted in Atlanta, business, California, Georgia, media, social media, sports, technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

