More Las Vegas travel

OK, if I’m going to include loose talk from Vegas in this blog, I have to turn the mike on myself.

While enjoying lunch at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville Cafe, I was chatting up a new woman friend from California on my left. Then an attractive woman sat to my right. When the server asked if she were there on business, I started needling her good naturedly about her attire (tasteful, though not meant for a keynote address).

It didn’t take her long to get even. After listening to more conversation between me and the California woman, she asked, “Are you her dad?” Touche.

But my trip last week still was an overwhelming success, with a couple of shows, lots of good food and friends, and videos and pics to remember it by.

Observation: the traditional showgirl shows and Vegas glitz are passing. Various Cirque du Soleil shows alone are as numerous as the showgirl acts.  (Perhaps because of diminished appeal. These days, women as business execs, business owners or heads of households are common. And remember that Hillary Clinton was a force in presidential politics in 2008, and the Oscars now have a woman as best director. So the “woman as eye candy” bit may be passe. And Wayne Newton, once Mr. Las Vegas, has to play a limited engagement at the Tropicana, not exactly the center of attention in Vegas.)

But it’s still Vegas. You don’t see a woman sliding into a giant margarita just anywhere. So enjoy the attached videos. Hope they reflect the fun I had.

About Steve Burns

I live in the Atlanta area. I also lived for many years in Southern California. I'm into mainstream media, social media, sports, business and politics. I worked for AOL's Patch, but this is my personal blog. I'm on Twitter (@bsteve76), Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Pinterest. See ya 'round!
This entry was posted in business, California, food, Georgia, media, music, social media, technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

