Missing Twitter, part II

In an earlier post, I got into some memorable life events that were born too soon for me to get them online instantaneously. Of course, that’s all the rage now, as live streaming of details and pictures of happenings all around the world via Twitter and other social media sites is common. Not all are interesting to everyone, of course, but I’ve come up with five more that were interesting to me. And you might like them, too.

Donald Trump, Los Angeles, 2005. The famous developer and reality TV star journeyed west to roll out his new single-family housing development/golf course on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Several LA city and county officials were also on hand for a news conference and groundbreaking. I was attending as a reporter for a newsletter company. My missed photo op was a killer: At one point, Trump put a hard hat on top of his famous coiffeur as he grabbed a shovel for news photogs.

 —Los Angeles Marathon, 1991. The date March 3, 1991, is best known to the world for the infamous videotaped beating of Rodney King by several Los Angeles police officers. A few hours after that, I lined up with thousands of other runners for a 26.2-mile jaunt through that city’s streets. It was my first marathon after many 10Ks and half-marathons. After four months of training, I finished in 4 hours, 27 minutes. I’ve never attempted another one, as training consumes so much time and energy. But the feeling of achievement was tremendous. The first congratulatory call came from San Diego Union colleague Buster Olney, now ESPN’s star baseball reporter.

 — Game 3, NCLS baseball (Braves-Padres), 1998, San Diego. The Padres won the first two games in Atlanta, and they had a raucous, sellout home crowd waiting for them in Game 3. The Braves countered with staff ace Greg Maddux, but Manager Bobby Cox, fearing star Padres reliever Trevor Hoffman, lifted Maddux for a pinch-hitter after five innings. I sat behind home plate as Hoffman struck out Javy Lopez on three pitches in the eighth inning to end the Braves’ last threat. “Sweep! Sweep! Sweep!” was the chant from the crowd as they left the stadium. The Braves, however, won the next two games before the Padres clinched a World Series berth in Atlanta.

Rose Bowl (Iowa-UCLA), Pasadena, 1986. My first trip to the “Granddaddy of Them All” was memorable. I rode north from San Diego with several newspaper colleagues for the game, and I was fortunate to have a sideline pass. Hence some pre-game pictures of the UCLA players and Iowa coach Hayden Fry. UCLA rolled to an easy victory, as the Midwesterners could not match the Bruins’ team speed.

NCAA basketball title game (North Carolina-Marquette), Atlanta, 1977. The matchup of coaching legends Dean Smith and Al McGuire was thrilling. The Warriors pulled away late in the game for a victory that sent McGuire into retirement with his first national title. After the game, McGuire asked his family to come onto the court with him to join the celebration. “Don’t nobody know my family,” he said.

Consider yourself post-Tweeted.

About Steve Burns

I live in the Atlanta area. I also lived for many years in Southern California. I'm into mainstream media, social media, sports, business and politics. I worked for AOL's Patch, but this is my personal blog. I'm on Twitter (@bsteve76), Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Pinterest. See ya 'round!
This entry was posted in Atlanta, business, California, Georgia, media, social media, sports, technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

