A matter of growth

Updated Aug. 16, 2014

For the first time in more than 10 years, my facial follicles are getting unequal treatment every morning.

I’ve decided a new look is in order for the new year. In letting my goatee reach full flower, I’m putting a 21st century touch on an old look.

Back in the day, I think I was trying to win a one-man Eric Clapton lookalike contest. I even once saw my former hero in concert in Macon, GA, when I was still in an unshaven mode.

Then maturity set in, and I reduced things to a mustache. I had no particular model then, though, and that look remained in place until the late 1990s. “Historic shave,” commented a co-worker in Orange County, CA, when my upper lip emerged.

There’s also some inspiration for this look. I’ve always liked the goatee sported by former Atlanta Braves pitcher John Smoltz.  He not only looks urbane and dashing, but it gives him an imposing presence on the mound. Then there’s sportscaster Jim Rome. He makes his living by being controversial, and he too has an intimidating presence. But no one ever got ahead in any field by being dull, right?

So I’m glad things are getting hairy again, and I look forward to more positive comments.

About Steve Burns

I live in the Atlanta area. I also lived for many years in Southern California. I'm into mainstream media, social media, sports, business and politics. I worked for AOL's Patch, but this is my personal blog. I'm on Twitter (@bsteve76), Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Pinterest. See ya 'round!
This entry was posted in Atlanta, California, Georgia, media, sports, technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

