Going fo(u)rth

The cyberwaves will be jammed with Independence Day blogs. Still, that won’t keep me from waxing thankful for my lot in life today.

Independence Day long has been my favorite holiday. In 1976, I sat with my family in my apartment in Macon, Georgia, watching bicentennial activities from Washington, D.C., on television. That also was my first day on the job as a sports reporter at The Macon Telegraph. Little did I know that in just over two years, I would be named sports editor of the same paper, just weeks before my 24th birthday.

More recently, in 2002-05, I was a regular at the traditional July 4 family gathering of a special female friend in Orange County, CA. It was one of the warm, supportive signs of stability in years of turmoil that followed a disappointing job downsizing. I have stayed in touch with the woman since relocating to Atlanta, as part of keeping alive the best years of my adult life … those spent with her, and in California.

Now, I’m attaching an editorial column from today’s Atlanta Journal-Constitution by a former University of Georgia journalism classmate, who is now an Episcopalian priest. It’s a reminder of what a great country we live in, and what a rewarding choice I made in choosing journalism as a career. And it’s a career that I haven’t given up on.

And what marvelous changes I’ve seen in those 32 years. Journalistically, I’ve seen the rise of CNN, the Ted Turner-founded cable TV network that has a farther worldwide reach that anyone. Now, the Internet means a smaller, more informed world.

Personally, two marriages produced some fine memories, among them trips to the Bahamas and Hawaii. Still, my best romantic moments were with the aforementioned female friend, including Christmas gatherings and trips to Las Vegas and Mexico.

Oh, that the next 232 years give Americans as much to live for.

About Steve Burns

I live in the Atlanta area. I also lived for many years in Southern California. I'm into mainstream media, social media, sports, business and politics. I worked for AOL's Patch, but this is my personal blog. I'm on Twitter (@bsteve76), Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Pinterest. See ya 'round!
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

